Final Countdown Friday: Sarah Dessen

sarah dessen books

Day 12 of Blogentine’s Day.

My sister introduced me to Sarah Dessen’s books in high school and I haven’t put them down since. I always find myself rereading my favorites, discovering new favorites, and anticipating the arrival of a new book from her. While I love all of Sarah Dessen’s books, there are some that hold a special place in my heart.

11. and 12. That Summer and Someone Like You

That Summer and Someone Like You are both good books, but I don’t have as much as of a connection to these main characters as some of Sarah Dessen’s other characters.

10. Lock and Key

Ruby and her situation definitely pulled on my heartstrings, but like the main characters in the first two novels I mentioned, I don’t feel like I identify with her as much as other characters. I also am not as invested in her relationship with Nate like other relationships by Sarah Dessen. I love how Ruby is different than many other characters in Sarah Dessen’s novels, but I don’t find myself reaching for this novel when I want to reread a Sarah Dessen novels.

9. What Happened to Goodbye

I’ve reread What Happened to Goodbye a few times and I like it more every time I read it. Even though I like McClean’s relationship in the book, I’m not invested in it. However, I really liked getting to see Jason again in this book to see what happened it him. Once again, I don’t find myself reaching for this one again often, only when I want to try to fall more in love with it.

7. and 8. Dreamland and Keeping the Moon

Dreamland is very different from Sarah Dessen’s other books and I loved seeing a different side of her. I think Sarah Dessen tackles the topic of an abusive relationship very well.

I always find myself rereading Keeping the Moon during summer. It a short, quick read with just as much heart as other Sarah Dessen books. It’s the perfect book to read lounging by the pool in the summer.

6. The Moon and More

One of the reasons that I love this book is because the main character was learning to find her place the summer before she went to college and when this book was released, I was in the same position. Some people are unsatisfied with the ending, but it definitely was different and refreshing. Even though I have only read this book once, it holds a special place in my heart because of my connection while reading it. Also, this is probably my favorite cover out of Sarah Dessen’s books.

5. Along for the Ride

Sarah Dessen definitely knows how to write the perfect summer book because this is another one I find rereading a lot during the summer. I definitely connected with Auden while reading this books and enjoyed reading about all of the supporting characters.

4. Saint Anything

Saint Anything just came out last year and I’ve already reread it a few times. Saint Anything’s plot is similar to a few other of my favorites, but it has a different message that really resonated with me. Sydney and Mac are a cute couple and I’d love to be best friends with Layla. If I read it a few more times, my #3 might have some serious competition. This also is one of my favorite covers.

3. The Truth About Forever

The Truth About Forever was the second Sarah Dessen book that I read. I immediately connected with Macy and wished that I could work at Wish with all of the other characters. This book has the most memorable supporting characters to me and Wes is definitely one of my favorite guys from Sarah Dessen’s books (sa-woon).

2. This Lullaby

When I first reread This Lullaby, I didn’t really like it. Then, I decided to reread it and wondered why it wasn’t one of my favorites. I love seeing Remy’s transformation and watching her relationship with Dexter grow. Dexter is not like many of the other love interests in Sarah Dessen’s books, so his adorkable personality really stands out.

  1. Just Listen

Just Listen is the first Sarah Dessen book that I read and it still is my favorite. THIS BOOK. I love the message, Annabelle’s character, her relationship with her family, and her relationship with Owen. This is the first book I almost cried over and I almost cry every time that I read it.

What is your favorite Sarah Dessen book? 

 

One thought on “Final Countdown Friday: Sarah Dessen

Leave a Reply

