Unpopular Book Opinions Tag

my life next door

Here are my answers to the Unpopular Book Opinions tag. I tag anyone who is reading this!

  • A popular book you didn’t like

 After seeing a lot of positive reviews on Goodreads and reading the plot, I decided to read My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I love light, fluffy novels set in the summer, but this was an exception. I felt like the book was too long, it became too unbelievable at the end, and a “too perfect” main character.

  • A book or series that everyone else seems to hate, but you love

People either love or hate this book and I fall into the first category. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher made me keep wanting to turn the page to hear more of Hannah’s story and made me think for weeks after reading it.

  • A love triangle where the main character ended up with a person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like

Sarah Dessen is one of my favorite authors, but whenever I think of couples in her books, I usually forget about Ruby and Nate. I don’t  dislike them, but I never really connected with this book or them either.

  • A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

I never really reach for fantasy books or paranormal books even though there are many popular books in both of those genres released recently.

  • A popular or beloved character that you don’t like

It’s not that I don’t like this character, it’s just that I didn’t connect with him. Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace have a great relationship that I enjoyed, but Augustus has a personality that I don’t mesh with well. The deep and philosophical statements and always speaking in metaphors sometimes came across as a little unauthentic to me. Since this book was so hyped, I expected to fall in love with Gus and fangirl over him like everyone else, but there just wasn’t the connection that I expected.

  • A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

I really loved The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks, but every time I pick up another book by him it is difficult for me to get past the first chapter.

  • A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

Love triangles. Most of the time, one of the characters just seems to be standing there off to the side… they usually don’t have much of a personality and you can easily see they won’t be the person chosen at the end.

  • A popular series that you have no interest in reading

The Selection series seems like something that I would enjoy since the plot appears to be the dystopian version of the Bachelor. However, there are so many dystopian books out, I’ve heard from that it wasn’t that interesting, and I usually don’t gravitate to dystopian books that focus on love (for example, Delirium and Matched).

  • The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie,” but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

When reading Mockingjay for the first time, it didn’t seem to have the same spark present in the first two novels. I found myself uninterested in the characters and just reading to see how the series ended. However, I loved the movies and they helped me visualize the large cast of characters and appreciate the book more.

One thought on “Unpopular Book Opinions Tag

Leave a Reply

