The Blogger Recognition Award

blogger recognition award

Thanks to Carianne at Cuppa ‘n Critiques for tagging me in the Blogger Recognition Award!

blogger-recognition-award.jpg

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever gave nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select fifteen other bloggers you want to give the award to

How My Blog Started

When I first created my blog over winter break at college, I didn’t know what I wanted to post on it. After having a lot of reading from college textbooks, I rarely found myself reaching for “fun” books since I started school a couple years ago, so it never crossed my mind to review books.

Coincidentally, I started reading books for fun again over the winter break when I created my blog. I decided to read the final Divergent book, Allegiant, because I had been putting it off for a LONG time. Also, since the movies were coming out, I didn’t want the end to be spoiled for me. After reading Allegiant, I realized I had a lot of opinions on it, so maybe I could blog about books.

I thought about it for a few more days and decided it would be a good idea to create a blog where I could review books that may be in the library of my future classroom or that other teachers could include in their classrooms. I thought that writing reviews could help me remember the plots of all the books I read and also help me remember what I thought of them so I could easily recommend books to my future students. Also, since I hadn’t kept up with any recent releases, I thought creating a book blog could help me become familiar with current popular books.

Two Pieces of Advice for New Bloggers

1.) You don’t have to post a review right after you read a book

Whenever I started my book blog, I wanted to quickly write a review and post it. As I’ve continued my blog, I realized it is much more helpful to plan my blog posts on a calendars and space them out. Not only does this give me a head start on content for the full month of my blog, but then I don’t need to feel rushed to finish a book and write a review. Along with this, I always have to remind myself that I don’t need to review every book that I read, especially if I don’t have that strong of an opinion on it.

2.) Participate in weekly memes and book tags.

Not only do memes and books tags these help people get to know you and your tastes better, but it helps you get to know other bloggers better! Plus, they are a nice break from writing reviews and can remind you of great books you read awhile ago.

I nominate… 

Reg @ SheLatitude

Jacquie and Gin @ Rattle the Stars

Lindsey @ Piece of Paradis

Carrie @ Reading is My Super Power

Jam @ Heartscent Reads

Sophie @ Bookwish

Beth @ Hello Beautiful

Danielle @ Bookish in Texas

Giovanna @ Book Coma

Sorry if you’ve already done this!

 

What advice do you have new book bloggers?

 

Leave a Reply

