Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Thrifting Books

top ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten Reasons I Love X, so basically you have free range to fangirl over any topic you wish. I decided to choose Ten Reasons I Love Thrifting Books.

I’ve done a few posts on thrift store book hauls and in the next few weeks I’ll be posting about a mega thrift store haul that I just did (on one of the days I went thrifting, I bought over ONE HUNDRED books). Thrifting is definitely a hobby one mine and here’s why:

1.) Finding one of your favorite books in a thrift store is like finding a needle in a haystack.

I love the book Oh! The Places You’ll Go, but I can never let myself pay almost $20 for a picture book. To my surprise, I found it for $0.50 at a library book sale!

2.) Finding an entire series for a fraction of the price.

In the past few months, I’ve accumulated every Series of Unfortunate Events book (except the last one) for under $10! I’ve even a Junie B. Jones Box Set originally priced at $20 for $1 or $2 (I can’t remember exactly what I paid).

3.) Building a library for my future classroom without breaking the bank.

In my future classroom, I am going to need books that span a range of genres and reading levels. By thrifting books, I can get a large volume of quality books way cheaper than buying them new.

4.) Trying out a new book isn’t a risk when you get it for a quarter (or less)!

At a library sale last weekend, you could fit as many books into a plastic bag for $5. With extra space in one of my bags, I got to stuff it with books that I wasn’t sure about or that I wouldn’t normally pick up. It wasn’t that much of a risk either–I paid about $0.10 for each book!

5.) Spending time with my family.

I love spending time with my family and thrifting is something that my sister and grandma also enjoy. Plus, we always help each other find great stuff!

6.) Finding a book on your TBR shelf.

There have been so many books on my TBR pile that I seriously considered purchasing for full price online that I found at the thrift store the next day. Some I loved, some I did not. Either way, I saved a lot of money.

7.) Rediscovering old favorites.

I’ve rediscovered so many books that I loved when I was younger, but gave away when I outgrew them. When I find old favorites, I get to love them again and hopefully can get a whole new generation of readers to love them in my classroom!

8.)  Calculating how much money you saved.

In one part of the mega haul that I’ll be posting within the next few weeks, I’ll talk about how my grandma, sister, and I bought around $630.00 worth of books for only $15.00 at a library book sale! Nothing beats saving 98%.

9.) The reaction you get when you tell people how much money you saved.

Even though my mom threatened to put all my books in the garage if I brought any more home, she still is very impressed by how much money I save.

10.) Supporting great causes.

Many of the thrift stores that I shop at support great causes, like the local humane society or library. By shopping at the thrift store, I’m helping support my community!

 

What is your favorite way to buy books?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Thrifting Books

  1. Sue @crushingcinders says:

    I love your topic! I can’t walk past a second-hand book shop and our local charity shop that sells books along with other treasures is my favourite.
    Best thing ever: finding that out-of-print favourite childhood book that you can now share with a whole new generation!
    My TTT

    Like

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

