Top Ten Tuesday: Books set outside of the US

top ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is books set outside of the US. Here are some of my favorite books set outside of the United States:

1.) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1)

I love the Anna and the French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins! They are fun contemporaries and two out of the three books take place in France. Stephanie Perkins does an incredible job of incorporating the French atmosphere into the books, even though her experience in France was through research and Google Maps.

2.) Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta

Saving Francesca

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta is also a fun read, but also contains a lot of depth. Plus, it is set in Australia!

3.) Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

Cinder by Marissa Meyer is a futuristic retelling of the classic Cinderella. This isn’t my typical genre, but I still loved this book. The setting, New Beijing, is also different from many other YA books.

4.) Nicola and the Viscount/Victoria and the Rogue by Meg Cabot

Nicola and the Viscount

Nicola and the Viscount and Victoria and the Rogue by Meg Cabot are historical romances set in London, England. The story lines in each book are very enjoyable, but I thought they were the perfect beach reads when I went on vacation last summer!

5.) Cecile: Gates of Gold by Mary Casanova

Cecile: Gates of Gold (Girls of Many Lands, France)

Cecile: Gates of Gold by Mary Casanova follows a young girl serving in King Louis XIV’s court. I remember loving this cover when I was younger and feeling so much older and sophisticated when I read it.

6.) Emma by Jane Austen

Emma

Emma is my favorite Jane Austen book (I’m also a big fan of Clueless). Like Jane Austen’s other books, Emma takes place in England.

7.) The Odyssey by Homer

The Odyssey

I read The Odyssey in one of my college classes and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The Odyssey takes place in Greece.

8.) Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Frankenstein

I read Frankenstein by Mary Shelley in high school and college and it is one of my favorite classics. Frankenstein takes place in Switzerland and Germany in Europe, but also the North Pole!

9.) Stolen: A Letter to my Captor by Lucy Christopher

Stolen: A Letter to My Captor

Stolen by Lucy Christopher follows a teenage girl is kidnapped at a Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian outback.

10.) Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys

Between Shades of Gray

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is one of my favorite books. It takes place during World War II and follows a teenage Lithuanian girl forced into various Russian hard labor camps, including one in Siberia.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books set outside of the US

Leave a Reply

