Summer Bucket List Update

buckets

Today my summer officially ends as I head back to college. Actually, at this moment, I’m probably moving in the last few boxes for my senior year. Earlier this month, I listed eight books that I wanted to read in an end of summer reading bucket list. Unfortunately, I didn’t read most of the books on my list! I ended up checking out a few large books from my local library before the summer ended which left little time for the books I originally planned on reading. Here’s the books I finished reading:

The Lipstick Gospel: A Story about Finding God in Heartbreak, the Sistine Chapel, and the Perfect Cappuccino

The Lipstick Gospel by Stephanie May Wilson

I’m glad I finished this book because I plan on using it as a book club choice in my sorority’s Bible study. Now, I just need to go back through and think of some discussion questions! This book definitely wasn’t what I expected, but I still enjoyed it. It didn’t really feel like a “book” book to me, rather a collection of blog posts. I did, however, appreciate the author’s honesty and realness in her experience!

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (Dork Diaries, #1)

Dork Diaries #1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life by Rachel Renee Russell

This book. I have so many mixed feelings that I don’t know where to begin. I relayed some of the ridiculous events and terrible behavior in this book to my sister and she couldn’t believe it. I bought a few of these books because I knew they were popular, so I thought they could be a good addition to my future classroom library. Now, I don’t know if I want to include this book in my classroom library because I never want a child to act like this main character. On the other hand, it was so ridiculous that I couldn’t put it down. Look out for a review of this book on my blog in the future!

What is the last book you’ll be reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

