#SelfieSaturday: My (Somewhat Bookish) Halloween Pumpkin

happy

Last week, I went to the Pumpkin Patch to find the perfect pumpkin to decorate for Halloween. After procrastinating all of my homework by spending longer than I would like to admit on Pinterest, I finally decided on how I wanted to decorate my pumpkin. While I loved all of the pumpkins that showed off my favorite book characters, I opted to create a donut pumpkin instead! To make my pumpkin somewhat relate to my passion for books, I decided to use my dog as a model to resemble a book by one of my favorite children’s book authors: If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff! Here’s how I created my donut-inspired pumpkin:

First, I went to a local pumpkin patch to search for the perfect pumpkin. After circling the patch for about thirty minutes, I picked the perfect pumpkin!


After finding the perfect pumpkin, I headed to Walmart to find supplies to decorate my pumpkin. I settled on four different paint colors from the brand Apple Barrel: Blue Cloudless, Pink Blush, Lite Mocha, and White. Each cost 50 cents, except for Pink Blush because it has a gloss finish. There were pink colors in the 50 cents range, but I opted for Pink Blush because it was the closest to the shade that I envisioned for my pumpkin. For paint brushes, I used painted brushes that I already owned.

img_0759

After laying out newspaper on my living room table, I painted several layers of Lite Mocha on the bottom 2/3 of my pumpkin. I also painted a circle of Lite Mocha around the base of the stem and on the stem of the pumpkin. I started off by painting from side to side, but had more more successes painting up and down.

img_0761

Next, I painted several coats of Pink Blush on the top third of the pumpkin. This paint was VERY sheer so it took many coats to get the perfect amount of coverage.

img_0762

I finished my pumpkin by using a small brush to paint blue and white lines using Blue Cloudless and White.

After my pumpkin completely dried, I snapped a few pictures of the pumpkin with my dog and me!


3 thoughts on “#SelfieSaturday: My (Somewhat Bookish) Halloween Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

