Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved More than I Thought I Would

top ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is books you enjoyed more or less than you thought you would. I decided to stick with books that I enjoyed more than I thought I would. Here are my choices (any reviews will be linked to the book’s title):

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

I didn’t hear great things about Cinder from one of my close friends and the plot didn’t seem like what I usually read, so I decided to not read it. After hearing so many wonderful things about the series through blogging, I decided to pick it up. I’m so glad that I did because The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series ever!

The Winner’s Curse series by Marie Rutkoski

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)

The Winner’s Curse never really jumped out at me because it didn’t seem like a book that I usually read. Like with The Lunar Chronicles, I read great reviews about this series online. I’m glad I decided to read this series because it is definitely one of my favorites!

Avalon High by Meg Cabot

Avalon High

My sister recommended this book to me. I was hesitant to read it because it didn’t seem like something I would like. However, this ended up being one of my favorite books in high school. I can’t remember how many times I checked it out of the library!

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Just Listen

My sister recommended Sarah Dessen’s books to me, but I never expected to love them as much as I do now. My sister suggested that I read The Truth About Forever first, but I decided to read Just Listen first. Now, it’s one of my favorite YA books.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)

This is another book that I probably wouldn’t have picked up without blogging! I was blown away by the author’s style. Even though I only rated this book as three stars, I’m still excited to read the sequel!

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Between Shades of Gray

When my sister suggested that I read this book in high school, I didn’t expect to love it as much as I do now. In high school, I primarily read contemporary books, so I normally wouldn’t have read a historical fiction book otherwise. I absolutely loved this book and will buy anything that Ruta Sepetys writes!

Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls by Meg Cabot

Moving Day (Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls, #1)

When I picked this book up, I expected a typical Meg Cabot book. I ended up LOVING this book. I laughed out loud through the entire book and want to read more Allie Finkle books!

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream by Jenny Han

Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream

With this book, I expected a cute chapter book for younger readers. This book was much deeper than I expected and I loved it! I also loved how the book explored another culture.

Rules by Cynthia Lord

Rules

This book was on the reading list for one of my college courses, so I wasn’t expecting too love it as much as I did. This book really inspired me and made me confident in my decision to major in special and elementary education.

Sincerely by Courtney Shienmel

 Sincerely, Sophie; Sincerely, Katie

When I picked this book up, I expected a cute pen pal story. Like with Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream, this book was a lot deeper than I expected. I loved the author’s writing style and how she accurately depicted family dynamics.

 

What books did you love more than you expected?

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved More than I Thought I Would

Leave a Reply

