Selfie Saturday: My Washington D.C. Trip

selfiesaturday

Recently, my college had spring break. A few of my friends and I decided to spend spring break in Washington D.C.! I had never been to Washington D.C. before, so I loved seeing all of the monuments and places that I saw on TV and textbooks in real life. Here are some of the highlights from my trip:

  • On my first day in D.C.,  I visited the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum! I didn’t have much time to spend here (only an hour), so it was my least favorite of the museums that I visited. My favorite part about this museum would have to be the different pilot and flight attendant uniforms from different decades!

plane

  • On my second day of D.C., I saw a lot of the monuments. First, I attended a church service at St. John’s Episcopal Church. Presidents attend a service at this church before they are inaugurated. Then, I stopped outside of the White House. After the White House, I walked to the Washington Monument, World War II Memorial, and Lincoln Memorial.

white housemonument

  •  After the walking on the National Mall, I went to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. This was one of the major highlights of my trip. The Holocaust Museum is definitely one of the best museums that I have ever visited. When you enter the museum, you receive an identification card. Every floor, you read more about the real person on your identification card. One of the most impacting moments for me in the museum was there was a hallway and on each side of the room were piles of shoes from victims of the Holocaust that were taken when they entered a concentration camp.
  • The next day was a little lighter after experiencing the Holocaust museum. First, I went to the Zoo. I was really excited to see one of my favorite animals, the panda! The day I went was a little chilly so many of the animals were not outside. Luckily, the National Zoo has many inside exhibits so I still got to see the pandas!

panda statue

  • After the National Zoo, I went to Georgetown. I was excited to get cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcake, the store that was featured on TLC’s D.C. Cupcakes. The Mocha Chocolate Chip Cheesecake cupcake was the best cupcake that I’ve ever eaten and the Unicorn cupcake was so cute!
Image may contain: dessert and food

Mocha Chocolate Chip Cheesecake cupcake (first on the right), Unicorn cupcake (second from the right)

  • The next day, I did a lot of walking… about fifteen miles! I started by walking to the Jefferson Memorial. After the Jefferson Memorial, I went to the National Archives. It was so cool to see the Declaration of Independence and Constitution in person! I also saw Rosa Parks’s fingerprints and arrest report, which was very interesting to see.

jefferson

  • After the National Archives, I visited Ford’s Theatre, where President Abraham Lincoln was assassinated. Even though the theatre was not open, the museum was very well put together. I also loved how Ford’s Theatre also included the house where Lincoln was carried after he was shot and included a lot of information on the plot to assassinate Lincoln.
  • After Ford’s Theatre, my friends and I practically sprinted to the Library of Congress. I really liked looking at the reading room in the Library of Congress, but wasn’t that interested in the other exhibits. It was interesting to see so many artifacts from early America, but it wasn’t my favorite place that I visited during my trip.
  • Since there was still some time left before the museums closed, I went to the Smithsonian Natural History museum. My favorite parts of this museum were seeing the dinosaur bones and the mummies!

natural history

  • I finished off the night by walking to the Capitol Building and monuments on the National Mall at night! Even though it was raining, all the monuments were so beautiful when lit up.
  • On my last day in D.C., I visited the Smithsonian American History Museum. My favorite part of this museum was seeing Dorothy’s ruby slippers from The Wizard of Oz!

 

What places have you visited recently? 

 

One thought on “Selfie Saturday: My Washington D.C. Trip

Leave a Reply

