Library Book Sale Haul 2017 Part #5: Young Adult Books and Miscellaneous

Library Book Sale

This year at the library book sale, I didn’t pick up as many young adult books as usual. I think the selection was limited than years in the past or the books on the table were ones that I already had in my library. However, I did find some great resources that I could use in my future classroom. I also branched out and picked up a few graphic novels and poem anthologies! Here’s what I found:

  • Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle

My sister already owns a paperback copy of this book, but I couldn’t care up a copy of this hardcover book in perfect condition! I remember only thinking this book was okay a few years ago, but I want to read it again to see if my opinion has changed.

  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Student Companion by David E.E. Sloane

Even though this isn’t a book that I would read in my classroom, I couldn’t pass up finding a copy of the book and a student companion on $5 bag day. I’ll pass these two books off to my sister who plans on teaching middle or high school English.

  • Tangerine by Edward Bloor
  • Anpao: An American Indian Odyssey by Jamake Highwater
  • Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl
  • Gabby and Gator by James Burks

I had never heard of the four books above, but they all looked pretty interesting. Since it was $5 bag day when I found these books, I couldn’t help but throw them in my bag!

  • A Children’s Anthology of Poetry edited by Elizabeth Hauge Sword

I was really happy to find this book because it contains a lot of classic children’s poems which will be perfect for my future elementary classroom.

  • Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • More Poems to Go by Highlights magazine

I was so happy to find this cute little poem book! I think this smaller poem book will be more interesting and less intimidating to younger readers. I will be a great resource for my classroom.

  • Map Skills by Jan Kennedy
  • Daily Warm-Ups Grade 3 by Shelle Russell
  • Scholastic Science Dictionary by Melvin Berger
  • The Usborune Big Book of Experiments edited by Alastair Smith
  • The Kingfisher First Picture Atlas by Deborah Chancellor

I was really happy to pick up the science dictionary, book of experiments, and picture atlas on $5 bag day. These are books that I wouldn’t normally purchase on my own, but could be really helpful for when I have my own classroom. The library book sale is the perfect place to stock up on resources that I wouldn’t be my first choice to buy!

  • The First Ladies by published by Greenwich House

When I saw this book on $5 book day, I knew I wanted it. I thought it would be a great non-fiction addition to my classroom library! This book is HUGE, but I made sure to get in my bag. While this book is unfortunately older and only goes up to Barbara Bush, I still think it’s a great start to adding more non-fiction books about women in my classroom.

 

Stay tuned for next week when I discuss the books apart of series that I found at the library book sale. What book deals have you scored recently?

Leave a Reply

