Library Book Sale Haul 2017 Part #6: Books in a Series

Library Book Sale

One of the best parts of the library book sale is finding several books in the same series to add to my collection. I remember when I was in elementary school, I love reading books apart of the same series. I can remember American Girl books and A Series of Unfortunate Events books being just two of many series with books constantly checked out of the library. Finding books in a series will be great for my future classroom because it provides several books that cater to a student with a specific taste. Here are some of the books apart of a series that I found at my local library’s book sale:

Hardy Boys hardback books by Franklin W. Dixon

  • #2: The House on the Cliff
  • #10: What Happened at Midnight
  • #11: While the Clock Ticked
  • #12: Footprints Under the Window
  • #25: The Secret Panek
  • #51: The Masked Monkey
  • #58: The Sting of the Scorpian

Hardy Boys paperback books

  • #6: The Crowning Terror
  • #10: Hostages of Hate
  • #33: Collision Course
  • #35: The Dead Season
  • #45: In Self-Defense
  • #46: Foul Play

 

I’m always looking for books primarily targeted for boys in my classroom library since I usually gravitate towards books marketed for girls. I know that I loved reading Nancy Drew throughout second and third grade, and since The Hardy Boys is a similar series targeted towards boys, I thought it would be great to snatch a few up for my collection.

 

Dear America

  • I Thought my Soul would Rise and Fly by Joyce Hansen
  • Color Me Dark by Patricia C. McKissiak
  • The Great Railroad Race by Kristiana Gregory
  • The Girl who Chased Away Sorrow by Ann Turner
  • The Picture of Freedom by Patricia C. McKissiak
  • The Winter of Red Snow by Kristiana Gregory
  • Dreams in the Golden Country by Kathryn Lasky
  • So Far from Home by Barry Denenberg
  • My Heart is on the Ground by Ann Rinaldi
  • A Line in the Sand by Sherry Garland
  • A Light in the Storm by Karen Hesse

 

loved the Dear America series in elementary school! I remember reading The Wide and Lonesome Prairie in second grade during silent reading time. Something about these hardcover books with ribbon bookmarks just felt special. Even though I typically wait to purchase hardcover books until the $5 bag day, I couldn’t pass these up on the first day of the sale. Every book was in perfect condition and the books that I found featured a wide range of diverse characters with unique points of view.

 

The Royal Diaries

  • Elizabeth I by Kathryn Lasky
  • Cleopatra VII by Kristiana Gregory

 

Even though I never got into The Royal Diaries series, I’m sure students that are fans of historical fiction, especially revolving around royalty, will really enjoy these books.

 

My Name is America

  • The Journal of William Thomas Emerson by Barry Denenberg

 

I was so excited to find this book and will have my eye out for similar books in the future. Since the Dear America series and Royal Diaries series focuses mainly on female characters, I was happy to find a book in a similar style featuring a male main character.

 

The Baby-Sitter’s Club by Ann M. Martin

  • #1: Kristy’s Great Idea
  • #23: Dawn on the Coast
  • #27: Jessi and the Super Brat
  • #70: Stacey and the Cheerleaders
  • #77: Dawn and Whitney, Friends Forever
  • #89: Kristy and the Dirty Diapers

 

The Baby-Sitter’s Club was one of my favorite series growing up. I actually had a ton of these books before selling them when I got older. Now, I’m trying to rebuild my collection. Luckily, I found six books from the series on $5 bag day!

 

Stay tuned for next week when I discuss my sister’s library finds of young adult and adult books! What book deals have you scored recently?

2 thoughts on “Library Book Sale Haul 2017 Part #6: Books in a Series

Leave a Reply

