Mid-Summer Mini Review

milk and honey

Unfortunately, Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur wasn’t a sweet read for me.

Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry divided into four sections from pain to finding the sweet moments in life. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews about Milk and Honey and when I saw it become available digitally through my local library, I decided to download it. Let me start of by saying I’m not a huge poetry reader, so it takes a lot for me to actually enjoy a poetry book. I feel like readers who are more into poetry will definitely enjoy this book, but it just wasn’t for me.

One positive aspect of this book is that there are a lot of themes that readers will relate to and enjoy. However, I found myself just flipping through the pages to get done with this book. I’ve seen a lot of people post different quotes and pages from this book on social media. I found that while reading this book, these were the only lines that really stuck out to me.

Another aspect that I think hindered my experience was the means that I read this book, which obviously, is a bad decision on my part and not the book. I’m not sure how the print version is, the version on my Kindle reader seemed to be a little off. I think the spacing of the words and the pictures didn’t translate well which hindered my reading experience.

While I think many readers will enjoy this book, it just was not my cup of tea. I really had to push through to finish this book and didn’t really have a good time while reading it. While I’m only giving this book two stars, I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of poetry or books that deals with themes of abuse, love, loss, and femininity.

One thought on “Mid-Summer Mini Review

Leave a Reply

