The Siren Review

the siren

 

A siren’s voice may bring men to their death, but The Siren book unfortunately bored me to death.

The Siren by Kiera Cass follows Kahlen who became a siren after a boat her family was on sank into the ocean. Kahlen is sick of watching people die because of her voice and isolates herself from the outside world. Then, she meets Akinli, a kind boy who could make her dreams come true. With twenty years left of her siren sentence, falling in love could prove deadly for both Kahlen and Akinli.

Even though The Selection wasn’t the best book I had ever read, the story hooked me and I couldn’t stop reading. The Siren falls into many of the same traps of The Selection, however, it never hooked me so I found myself struggling to finish the book. Overall, I felt that The Siren was filled with tropes, bland, and a little boring.

I think the most challenging aspect of this book was the relationship. Since this entire book hinges on the love story, the relationship between Kahlen and Akinli needed to be strong and convincing. Unfortunately, it was neither. Both Kahlen and Akinli are run-of-the-mill YA characters that lack the depth and connection to make an outstanding love story. Kahlen is the “different,” but beautiful girl, who can literally wash up on the shore outside of Akinli’s house without batting an eye lash. Akinli literally possesses no flaws and will do anything for Kahlen. Their relationship felt more melodramatic than real, and since it is the basis of the entire book, it made the whole book fall flat for me.

Like with Kahlen and Akinli, many of the side characters felt too one-dimensional and barely impacted the plot. Kahlen’s siren sisters were simply defined by one characteristic, such as the party girl or the one who isolated herself. Even though Cass gave us glimpses at their pasts and how they coped with their job as a Siren, it never was enough to fully understand their motivations. It seemed many of the characters only existed to make it possible for Kahlen and Akinli to stay together.

Another disappointing aspect of this book would be Kahlen’s relationship with the ocean. This is a personal preference, but it really irritated me to read long paragraphs in italics when Kahlen had discussions with the ocean. I think Cass did a great job of trying to develop the ocean as a character and her flawed relationship with the girls. However, it never completely fleshed out, and like the romance, fell flat. Overall, the whole siren story line came across as too cheesy and surface-level for me to fully believe it.

While I like the premise of The Siren, I think many of the characters and backstory could be better executed to connect readers to the story. Overall, I was disappointed with The Siren. As a result, I give The Siren two out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

