If You Love This, Then You’ll Love That

Blogentines

Let’s talk about love… for books!

I’ve discovered a lot of books that I enjoy through book recommendation videos. Since it’s Blogentine’s on my blog, I decided to share some of my favorite recommendations. Here are some of my choices:

If you loved The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, then you’ll love Dating You/Hating You by Christina Lauren

The Hating GameDating You / Hating You

The Hating Game and Dating You/Hating You offers very similar plots: two colleagues compete for one sole position within their company and develop romantic feelings for each other in the process. Both are fun, light-hearted books perfect for fans of love-hate relationships.

 

If you loved The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han, then you’ll love 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer, #1)99 Days

The Summer I Turned Pretty and 99 Days have a lot in common. Both take place in the summer. Additionally, both feature main characters caught in a love triangle between two brothers. While not my most highly rated books, these two books are easy-to-read books during the summertime. If you’re a fan of the CW-like drama in The Summer I Turned Pretty, then you’ll love the drama in 99 Days.

 

If you loved Save the Date my Morgan Matson, then you’ll love Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills

Save the DateFamous in a Small Town

Save the Date and Famous in a Small Town aren’t exactly similar plot-wise. Save the Date follows the main character during her sibling’s wedding weekend. Meanwhile, Famous in a Small Town follows a girl who attempts to recruit a famous country singer for a competition to help her band participate in the Rose Bowl parade. While different in plot, they are similar in messages. Both Save the Date and Famous in a small town are coming of age stories where the protagonist realizes their family, friends, and town are not as idyllic as they appear. If you appreciated this message in Save the Date, you will appreciate it in Famous in a Small Town too.

 

If you loved Let it Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle, and Maureen Johnson, then you’ll love Snow in Love by Kasie West, Melissa de la Cruz, Aimee Friedman, and Nic Stone

Let it SnowSnow in Love

While there are several YA winter anthologies, I think Let It Snow and Snow in Love are the most comparable. In both of these anthologies, I generally liked the majority of the stories. Since there are fewer authors, the stories also get to be a bit longer. While the stories don’t intersect in Snow in Love like they do in Let it Snow, they both are strictly contemporary collections that have a more cohesive feel compared to the My True Love Gave to Me short story collection.

 

If you loved A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, then you’ll love The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1)

A Court of Thorns and Roses and The Cruel Prince are two of the biggest faerie books currently on the market. Although their writing styles and world drastically differ, they have several common elements that if you enjoyed ACOTAR, then you will like The Cruel Prince too. Both ACOTAR and The Cruel Prince feature complicated love interests. Additionally, both feature complicated political relationships. As a result, if you like these aspects of ACOTAR, you might enjoy The Cruel Prince too.

What are your if you love this, then you’ll love that recommendations?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s