Funny Story by Emily Henry Book Review

So, funny story… I really liked this book!

Funny Story is Emily Henry’s latest contemporary novel which follows Daphne, who was recently dumped by her fiancee for his girl best friend. Now, Daphne shares an apartment with Miles, her polar opposite in every way except… he was recently dumped by his girlfriend who left him for Daphne’s fiancé. When Daphne and Miles get invited to their exes’ wedding, Daphne lies and claims to be in a relationship with Miles. But the more the pair fakes their relationship, the more they develop real feelings for each other.

Emily Henry is an auto-buy author for me. As a result, Funny Story was one of my most anticipated books of the year. Although I loved Happy Place (I rated it five stars), I was excited for Funny Story because it seemed a little more light-hearted than her last novel. While Funny Story didn’t end up being my favorite Emily Henry book, it was overall a solid and enjoyable story.

One of the main reasons that I enjoyed Funny Story were the characters, Daphne and Miles. They were realistic characters who reacted in ways consistent with their characters’ histories and personalities. While it did take me a little longer to warm up to them than other characters from Emily Henry’s books, by the end, I was invested in both of their characters and I enjoyed the character growth that both characters exhibited throughout the book. That being said, some of the side characters came across as a little cartoon-ish.

I also liked Daphne and Miles as a couple. To me, their story seemed realistic and like it could actually happen in real life, despite their atypical meeting. Even though they are described as opposites, they suit each other well and grow together as they face challenges as a couple throughout the novel. That being said, like with their individual characters, it took me a little longer than other Emily Henry novels to be invested in their relationship. I think I was most invested in them as a couple during the last third of the novel, whereas in other novels by the author, like Book Lovers, I was extremely invested throughout the entire story.

I also enjoyed the writing for most of the book. The first chapter was very strong. It reminded me of Book Lovers, which also had a strong opening chapter. I also liked the voice that Emily Henry gave Daphne. I have a similar sense of humor, so I found myself laughing out loud during some of her commentary. I also found that the end of the story was very engaging and did a nice job of wrapping up the themes presented in the novel. That being said, some of the middle dragged a little bit for me.

Overall, Funny Story is a solid book. While it isn’t my favorite from the author, I did enjoy it and I could see myself rereading it in the future. I give this book four out of five stars.

Leave a comment