Reckless (Chestnut Springs #4) by Elsie Silver Book Review

Reckless by Elsie Silver is the third book in the Chestnut Springs contemporary romance series. This installment follows Winter, Summer’s estranged sister, who becomes pregnant after a one-night stand with bull rider Theo Silva. When Theo doesn’t return her calls, Summer assumes she will never see him again. However, after an injury forces him to take some time off in Chestnut Springs, her feelings for him resurface.

Going into Reckless, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I usually steer away from books which feature the pregnancy trope. On the other hand, I love books which feature the cold female protagonist who is often looked down upon by other characters in previous books. When I started reading Reckless, I could tell almost instantly that it would be my favorite in the series and one of my favorite contemporary reads of the year so far.

One of the main reasons that I loved Reckless would be the main characters, Winter and Theo. In a dual point of view, sometimes one character is stronger than the other character. However, both Winter and Theo are interesting and engaging characters and I enjoyed reading from both of their perspectives. The author provided solid back stories for each character which motivated their actions throughout the novel.

Another aspect of Reckless which I enjoyed was the romance between the two main characters. Even in earlier novels in the series, Winter and Theo have a fun banter due to their opposite personalities. Aside from their conversations, it is clear that the characters develop a connection that is deeper than surface level. Situations and interactions are purposefully included in the story where Winter and Theo challenge each other’s ideas about love and the world. As a result, their connection builds realistically throughout the novel.

Finally, an aspect of Reckless that I unexpectedly enjoyed was the pregnancy trope. As I mentioned earlier in my review, I usually don’t pick up books which knowingly utilize this trope. However, the pregnancy aspect of the story played into key aspects of each character’s story. Winter always wanted a child, but didn’t know if she would have another opportunity. Her pregnancy wasn’t just used to get her back with Theo, instead, she was a strong mother for her daughter when he wasn’t even in the picture. The pregnancy also added depth to Theo’s backstory. Since his own father died at an early age, it was devastating for him to miss the beginning of his daughter’s life. Theo’s backstory further motivated him to be a good father for his daughter, with or without a romantic relationship with Winter.

Not only was Reckless my favorite book in the Chestnut Springs series, but it was also one of my favorite contemporary romances of the year. I give this book five out of five stars.

One thought on “Reckless (Chestnut Springs #4) by Elsie Silver Book Review

Leave a comment