My True Love Gave to Me Review

my-true-love-gave-to-me

My True Love Gave to Me gave me twelve holiday stories, but I am only giving it a few stars.

My True Love Gave to Me is a collection of 12 winter romance stories edited by Stephanie Perkins. Overall, I feel like most of the stories were average, but cute holiday stories that are perfect to read by the fireplace.

Out of the collection, I had a few favorites. I thought Midnight by Rainbow Rowell was the perfect opening. I thought the story was cute, well-written, and the perfect length. I also really enjoyed It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins because the characters jumped off the page. By the end of the story, I loved the characters so much, I wish I had a whole novel to read about them! Some of my other favorites were Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White and Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter. In both stories, I loved how the families played a large role.

There were a few stories that weren’t my favorites. At first, I thought The Lady and the Fox by Holly Black was interesting. However, it fell flat at the end for me when it seemed to many ideas were thrown in at the last minute. I also didn’t care for Krampuslauf by Holly Black because I thought there was so much focus on setting up for the party than the actual party itself. The Girl who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor felt like an odd addition to me, especially at the end of the book. Since it barely related to the holidays, I felt like it should be placed earlier within the book.

Even though there were several stories that I really enjoyed, it seemed like the stories I thought we okay or didn’t really like were actually some of the longer stories. This something made reading the book slightly drag. However, I still think this a great book to read around the holidays and I would definitely read my favorites around Christmas again. I give My True Love Gave to Me three stars.

What was your favorite story in My True Love Gave to Me?

 

 

 

One thought on “My True Love Gave to Me Review

Leave a Reply

