The Brittany Awards Part One: Picture Books

the-brittany-awards

For my blog, I decided to create end of the years awards for my favorite books. I decided that there will be four categories (picture books, middle grade books, young adult books, and overall favorite books) with five winners and three honorable mentions in each category. For each winner, I will include a link to my review, what I rated the book, and an excerpt from the review (if there is a review for the book on my blog).

For the first part, I will select my top five picture books that I read in 2016. For this category, I did not select any honorable mentions. Here are my top five choices, in no particular order:

1.) All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey (★ ★ ★ ★ ★)

26150577

“If you love this song, Mariah Carey, or are looking for a cute Christmas book for your children, All I Want for Christmas is You is the perfect book…”

2.) Good Morning, Superman! by Michael Dahl (★ ★ ★ ★)

31311458

“Overall, I think Good Morning, Superman! is an enjoyable book that colorfully illustrates a monotonous subject. While I do think this is a great children’s books, I think some additional features, like pop-out pictures of the tasks would enhance a student’s learning experience.”

*Check out this review during my 12 Days of Blogmas later this month!

3.) Isabella in Charge by Jennifer Fosberry (★ ★ ★)

28755374

“Isabella takes charge as inspirational character for young girls.”

4.) Fancy Nancy… Halloween or Bust! by Jane O’Connor (★ ★ ★ ★)

Fancy Nancy Halloween... or Bust!

“Fancy Nancy: Halloween… or Bust! will definitely be a treat for young readers on Halloween.”

5.) Happy Halloween, Biscuit! by Alyssa Satin Capucilli (★ ★ ★ ★)

1898234

“Overall, Biscuit is a fun and appropriate book for its target age range. While this consistency is great for younger readers, older readers might become bored with the predictable sentence structure and situations.”

 

What was the best picture book that you read in 2016?

4 thoughts on “The Brittany Awards Part One: Picture Books

Leave a Reply

